Top Bar

Mobile Menu Trigger

Facts Login Button


The New England Association of Schools and Colleges (NEASC) is the accrediting agency for all public, private and parochial schools in New England. Schools may apply for evaluation and certification every ten years. 

Mercymount Country Day School received its first NEASC accreditation in 1999; its second in 2009; and was last evaluated in April of 2021.  With five glowing commendations, and two major recommendations, Mercymount received accreditation on June 22, 2021. The tasks set for school improvement are continually evaluated and implemented by the Board of Trustees, the administration and the faculty.

Mercymount Country Day School is a sponsored ministry of the Institute of the Sisters of Mercy of the Americas and is a member of Mercy Education.

Two-year and five-year progress reports required by NEASC will be filed in the spring of 2023 and 2026, respectively. Re-evaluation will take place in April of 2031. 

Notable Recognition

1997 Recognized by the U.S. Department of Education as a Blue-Ribbon School of Excellence

1999, 2009 and 2021 Earned accreditation by the New England Association of Schools and Colleges.  

2001 Sister Martha Mulligan named as a Distinguished Principal by the National Catholic Education Association of America.

2014 Honored as Outstanding Philanthropic Service Organization by the Rhode Island Chapter of AFP

2017 All Mercy schools in North, South and Central America transitioned from networks to MESA, Mercy Educational System of the Americas, with headquarters in Silver Spring, MD.

NEASC Accredited School Logo